Hands-on Gear Review

Compare disposable diaper ratings side-by-side >

The Honest Company Diapers Review

   
 

Disposable Diapers

  • Currently 2.7/5
Overall avg rating 2.7 of 5 based on 16 reviews. Most recent review: April 16, 2014
Price:  $0.55 list
Pros:  Exceptionally unique and cute graphics, earth friendly and baby health conscious
Cons:  Below average absorption compared to other green diapers in our tests, not available in regular retail, expensive
Bottom line:  Good fit, great graphics, eco and health conscious made this one of our favorites, but performance wasn't on par with other green diapers.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.7 of 5) based on 15 reviews
Recommendations:  40% of reviewers (6/15) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   The Honest Company
Review by: Juliet Spurrier, MD ⋅ Mom-in-Chief, BabyGearLab ⋅ October 31, 2012  
Bottom Line
We like the mission of the Honest Company, and their diapers have a lot positive features. But, given the high cost, competing green diapers are a much smarter option in our opinion, based on our tests of 9 green diapers. Absorption was not impressive compared to other diapers we tested, both green and traditional, and performance on other metrics was met or exceeded by most other green diapers we tested. Out of 9 green diapers we tested, the Honest Company diaper placed a disappointing 6th, yet it was one of the most expensive. The Honest Diaper offers cute graphics, and are legitimately a health conscious and earth friendly brand. The company has made a sincere effort at delivering an eco-friendly diaper, which we appreciate, but at this time we feel there are superior options elsewhere at significantly lower cost.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


BabyGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

The Honest Company appears to be a place where celebrity endorsement got mashed up with eco-health wonk analysis to create a unique blend of great looks and eco-brand marketing. The company was founded by actress Jessica Alba and eco-health thought leader, Christopher Gavigan, author of Healthy Child Healthy World (a fabulous book we wholeheartedly recommend with advice on how to create a healthier, less-toxic, and more environmentally sound home for your baby).

We love the mission of Honest Company, and respect the efforts the company is making to create a quality line of eco-health oriented products. However, the actual performance of the Honest Diaper in our tests was not as impressive as we'd hoped relative to competing green diapers. We also have objected, in multiple emails to the company co-founder Christopher Gavigan (he has never replied in writing), to the company's repeated use of marketing claims that we feel mislead customers into thinking the diaper is entirely plant-based, when in fact it is not (more on this later in "A History of Misleading Marketing Claims" below).

Pros
Click to enlarge
Honest Diapers come in a broad array of cute graphical designs as well as plain white.
Credit: Honest Company Website
Very cute diaper with the best graphics and designs of any diaper we tested. More importantly, the Honest Diaper is one of the more green diapers we tested, and we like the fact that it uses a significant percentage of plant-based materials (co-founder Christopher Gavigan told us the Honest Diaper is 80% plant-based, which is the same % Bambo Nature cites as compostable in their diaper, but less than the 100% natural claimed by Broody Chick). Note that we are unable to independently audit and verify these claims, and considering that Honest Company has made multiple statements on their website we feel are misleading, we're not sure we should take these claims at face-value.

Mostly Plant-Based, But Still Relies on Petro-Chemicals for Absorbency
The Honest Diaper is one of the few diapers offering a top layer (the layer closest to baby's skin) that is made of plant-based PLA (a type of bio-plastic, similar to the plant-based plastic cups you may see used/sold at eco-health oriented stores). This may be a significant differentiator when compared to other diapers, even competing green diapers, as many use a petroleum-based material such as polypropylene for the top layer. Honest Company founder, Christopher Gavigan, told us that he believes the plant-based PLA does retain more surface moisture than petroleum-based top layer materials (thus possibly scoring worse in our absorbency test), but has a better pH which results in reduced skin rash. However, the Honest Diaper is not 100% plant-based, despite statements on their website which seem to imply otherwise. Like Pampers and other traditional diapers we tested, Honest Diapers include the petroleum-based chemical SAP, as a key moisture absorbing ingredient in their diaper's core. This petro-chemical is in the absorbency layer close to baby's skin, and in a statement on the Honest Company website (1/18/13, later removed), can be considered "in direct contact with infant skin 24x7." We'd recommend that those Moms who wish to avoid petroleum-based chemicals in their diapers look to cloth diapers instead. Honest Company claims to use a "reduced" amount of petroleum-based SAP in their diapers, but when we asked co-founder Christopher Gavigan to quantify what was their approximate % reduction of petroleum-based SAP relative to competing diapers, he declined to answer because he considered the details proprietary. We find the Christopher Gavigan's refusal to clarify how much petroleum-based chemicals are included in their diaper relative to competing diapers to be disturbing, especially so given the company's stated philosophy of transparency and integrity. We're left concluding that the company is hiding something that they'd prefer the public didn't know.

Cons
When compared to the field of green diapers in our test, and we tested 9 green diapers, the Honest Company diaper finished a disappointing 6th place, yet it was one of the most expensive. Perhaps most importantly from our perspective, the Honest Diaper did not do well in our absorption testing relative to most other green diapers.
Click to enlarge
Green diaper absorbency cagematch. Performance by BAMBO Nature (middle row, 2nd from left) and Attitude (bottom right) was unmatched by any other diaper we tested, green or not. Earth's Best (middle row, far right) also performed very strongly and at significantly lower cost than either Bambo or Attitude.
Credit: BabyGearLab Staff
We found that the Honest diapers (bottom left in the image above) did not distribute moisture well, which is evident in the large green pool areas. Distributing moisture is crucial for effective absorption. If the absorbent materials are not able to wick moisture throughout the entire seat you may see areas of heavy green dye spots in our tests which indicate areas where fluid "pooled" rather than being distributed more evenly through the core. Honest Company co-founder Christopher Gavigan noted in our interview with him that the Honest Diaper's plant-based PLA top layer may naturally retain more moisture than petroleum-based top layers, and thus may have been a factor in the Honest Diaper performance in our absorption test (our test does focus on surface wetness next to baby's skin). However, PLA moisture would not explain the big green spots evident in our Honest Diaper absorption tests, which indicate areas of significant moisture "pooling" in the core of the Honest Diaper relative to other green diapers.

Expensive
Relative to the other diapers in our test, both green diapers and conventional, Honest Diapers are among the most expensive. Honest Diapers are not sold by national retailers at this time. Instead, they promote their monthly subscription service which bundles in wipes in a combined package. We feel the requirement to buy both diapers and wipes in a subscription bundle makes it hard to figure out the actual cost per diaper. Fortunately, Honest Company allows you to buy in smaller quantity packages without signing up to a subscription, but the cost is relatively high per diaper compared to competing bulk packages. Adding to expense in the Honest Diaper case, we feel per unit price needs to be calculated including shipping costs since you can't buy the product at your local big box retailer. Thus we calculate the Honest Diaper price at: $13.95 for a pack of 36 size 3 diapers + $5.95 shipping = $0.55/diaper. To get a lower price per diaper (still high compared to alternatives), you need to sign up to the subscription which is delivered in higher volume packages. The subscription price for size 3 is about $0.40/diaper at the time of this review, $79.95 per month + $5.95 shipping gets you 216 size 3 diapers, and has the added benefit of including 280 wipes for free, an $11 value. If you subtract $11 for the wipes, the net cost per diaper is $0.35. However, other diapers are available for steep discounts if you buy them on subscription. For example, Earth's Best subscription price from Amazon (which includes free shipping and 20% off if you join their free Amazon Mom's program) is $0.24 per diaper, a substantial savings compared to Honest Diaper's subscription price, and for an excellent green diaper that offered better overall performance in our tests.

We believe that a subscription model can be a convenient and economic option, once you've settled into a specific brand, but we prefer the simpler subscription model offered by Amazon which offers more flexibility to choose the product(s) you want, a straight-forward discount, clear per unit pricing, and free-shipping. Amazon's subscription discounts vary, but range from 5% to 20% off the regular Amazon price. The deepest discount, of 20% off, is available if you join Amazon Mom's. Unfortunately, Honest Diapers are not available from Amazon. Too bad, because with Amazon's discounts the Honest Diaper might be much more compelling.

A History of Misleading Marketing Claims
Lastly, but perhaps least importantly, we find the Honest Company's marketing to be more than a little misleading when it comes to describing their product's inclusion of synthetic materials.

Synthetic Chemical Free, or Ummm, Actually Not?
While company co-founder Christopher Gavigan told us the Honest Diaper is 80% plant-based (which is laudable), the most prominent page of the website (as of Jan 18, 2013) about the Diaper Bundle described the product as "100%… plant based" and not exposing your baby to any "synthetic chemicals (ever!)" (see highlighted section of this screen capture from 1/18/13). Yet, the website also clearly notes on other pages that their diapers do include petroleum-based sodium polyacrylate (SAP) for absorbency, just like conventional diapers, and they openly admitted to their use of petroleum-based SAP when we inquired for details. We don't know how the diapers can simultaneously include the petroleum-based chemical SAP as a key ingredient and also be 100% free of synthetic chemicals.

Is SAP a Skin Irritant?
In a section on the Honest Company website titled, "What's Inside Disposable Diapers", the company is highly critical of competing diapers inclusion of SAP in their absorbent core, stating "sodium polyacrylate (SAP) is the main component of those absorbent gel crystals found in many diapers and it can be a skin irritant." They mock competing diaper companies for including SAP by stating, "Great idea to use it in something that's in direct contact with infant skin 24x7, right?" This is very ironic, and really not very honest in our opinion, when you consider that Honest Diapers also includes SAP as a key ingredient in their diaper's absorbent core. In contrast to their comments about SAP causing skin irritation when criticizing competitors' use of it, when talking about their own use of SAP in their diaper's core, Honest Company states, "[SAP has] been rigorously tested and found to be safe and non-toxic." In reply to our inquiries about their use of SAP, the company's Senior Product Manager said, in justifying their use a petroleum-based chemical in the diaper, "no one's going to use a diaper if it doesn't work!"

Click to enlarge
Honest Diapers rely on Super Absorbent Polymer (SAP) gel crystals (shown above) as a key ingredient for absorbency. Honest claims to use a blend of plant-based absorbers and "reduced" petroleum-based SAP, but refused to answer BabyGearLab's request that they quantify the amount of synthetic petro-chemical SAP included in their diapers relative to competing brands.
Credit: BabyGearLab Staff

Is Putting a Petro-chemical in a Diaper "Earth Friendly"?
Similarly, the company's other co-founder, Jessica Alba, described in the April 2012 issue of Parenting Magazine her disappointment in learning that "some so-called 'earth-friendly'" brands of diapers include petroleum-based chemicals as ingredients. Describing a brown diaper she used on her own baby, she said in Parenting, "But then I found out that the inside of the diaper had that same petroleum-based stuff in it that other diapers had." She failed to disclose in the interview that her own Honest Diapers also include petroleum-based stuff inside their diaper. We feel that kind of omission is deceptive, and likely leads consumers into believing that Honest Diapers don't have any petroleum-based chemicals inside. We asked Honest Company if Jessica could provide clarification about her comments in Parenting, and whether she was aware at the time of the interview that Honest Diapers include a petroleum-based chemical as a key ingredient. In her reply to BabyGearLab she said, "It's really difficult in quick interviews to get into all the nuances of product design and the science behind each ingredient. I've learned it's best to keep things simple. I am well aware our diapers contain a small amount of SAP and never meant to imply otherwise. Also, while I'd prefer everything to be totally petrochemical-free for ecological reasons, everything has to be balanced with effectiveness too." We believe as a founder and celebrity endorser of the Honest Diaper, Jessica has a legal responsibility to be careful to avoid misleading consumers in her widely viewed promotional interviews and public relations on behalf of the company. The FTC guidelines for celebrity endorsers make it clear that, "both advertisers and endorsers may be liable for false or unsubstantiated claims made in an endorsement."

How Do You Define, Honest?
We feel the company makes an interesting product, but these statements — which in our opinion are misleading to consumers — both on the website and by celebrity co-founder Jessica Alba are a distraction from their product's genuine integrity and serve to somewhat undermine the sense of trust and ethics so emphasized in the company philosophy (and name!). If the Honest Company really believes that SAP is a skin irritant that should not be placed next to baby's skin 24x7, then why would they include it in their diapers? To continue to include a petrochemical in the Honest Diaper that the company identifies as potentially harmful, and yet strongly imply that the Honest Company would never include such a synthetic chemical or anything harmful, just seems plain wrong to us. While we are not very familiar with the details of the FTC's Section 5: Unfair or Deceptive Acts or Practices (pdf) guidelines, we have to wonder if the company has crossed an ethical and perhaps a legal line in these marketing statements. To us, the statements seem misleading, and we see consumers posting on the web that are [mistakenly] convinced that the Honest Diaper is free of petroleum-based chemicals as evidence that consumer confusion exists. We have contacted the company to express our concerns, and we hope to see future revisions to the company's marketing efforts that are a little more, well, honest.

Conclusion
Despite very cute graphics, and a strong green offering, we feel these diapers did not perform well enough in absorption testing relative to other eco/health brands to justify the price.

Top performing green diapers in our tests such as Bambo, Attitude, and Earth's Best all offer similar green-features, with better performance in our tests, and lower prices.

For those Moms seeking a diaper completely free of petroleum-based chemicals, the Honest Diaper does not qualify, and we'd recommend you consider cloth diapers instead.

Strong Similarities to Earth's Best
Click to enlarge
It is worth noting that the Earth's Best diaper, which won our Editors' Choice award, appears to be quite similar in design and construction to Honest Diapers. This has been noted in other reviews of the product as well. Both Earth's Best and Honest Diapers include the manufacturing mark of "VB LLC" on the closure tab, which we believe designates the Valor Brands company, a manufacturer of multiple environmentally-oriented diaper product brands including their own brand, Nurtured by Nature. We suspect that both Earth's Best and Honest Diapers may be manufactured in the same Valor Brands factory in Mexico. However, while the looks are similar, significant differences were revealed in our tests. The fact that the same manufacturing company may be used doesn't mean two diapers are identical. Many companies use common suppliers, yet create their product uniquely. Here's some observations we made in our tests between Earth's Best and Honest Diapers:
  • Both diapers look almost identical in construction and materials
  • Both diapers claim to use reduced petroleum-based products by incorporating natural absorbency material as well, but neither reveals the details of their absorbency materials
  • Honest Diapers includes more disclosure of ingredient details, which we appreciate, and claims a plant-based PLA (bio-plastic) material is used for their inner and outer layers
  • Earth's Best says their inner and outer layers are "made with plant-based renewable resources" (we've inquired with the company for more specifics)
  • Honest Diapers include your choice of really cute and colorful patterns printed on their diapers
  • Earth's Best performed significantly better in our absorbency performance test
  • Earth's Best is significantly less expensive, and available at most major retailers. Amazon's subscription price for Earth's Best size 3 is $0.24 per diaper (which compares to our estimate of $0.35 per diaper in Honest Diaper's subscription bundle price)
  • Nurtured by Nature, explicitly made by Valor Brands, is even less expensive, but performed worse than Earth's Best in our tests
  • Nurtured by Nature's construction design also looks visually quite similar to both Honest Diapers and Earth's Best
  • However, Nurtured by Nature was noted in our review for it's stiffer and more waxy paper-feeling texture in the inner and outer layer materials compared to Earth's Best
  • The Honest Company has told us they made a change in their product in the fall of 2012, after we completed our tests, and their newer version appears to be visually even more similar to Earth's Best than the version we rated.

Click to enlarge
We suspect that Earth's Best (shown above) and Honest Diapers are likely manufacturered by the same Valor Brands factory in Mexico, which may explain why they look so similar.
Credit: BabyGearLab Staff
Click to enlarge
In our visual inspection, we can hardly see any differences in construction, materials, weight, or size between the recent Honest Diapers and Earth's Best diapers (the Honest Diaper shown above was purchased 11/15/12, note that our tests were performed on a older version of the Honest Diaper).
Credit: BabyGearLab Staff

Editors Note: this review was originally published in Oct 31, 2012. We updated the review in January 2013 following an email dialogue with Honest Company and subsequent phone interview with Honest Company co-founder Christopher Gavigan.

Following our complaints to the company founder about their misleading marketing claims, in the Spring of 2013 they removed the claim from their website regarding competitor's use of the petro-chemical SAP which may be a skin irritant (yet they still include that same SAP petro-chemical in their own diapers), and also eliminated the false claim that their diaper does not expose your baby to synthetic chemicals. However, their marketing and advertising continues to imply that their diapers are 100% plant-based, when in fact the company is well aware that it is not true. We have repeatedly communicated our concern with these misleading marketing claims to company founder Christopher Gavigan, and attempted to document our belief that Honest Company has, in our opinion, repeatedly violated FTC laws related to deceptive marketing practices. We hope the company will take these concerns seriously in the future and modify their future marketing and advertising practices.

Juliet Spurrier, MD

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

User Reviews


Most recent user review: April 16, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

BabyGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.7)

40% of 15 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
16 Total Ratings
5 star: 19%  (3)
4 star: 19%  (3)
3 star: 13%  (2)
2 star: 13%  (2)
1 star: 38%  (6)
Sort 15 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 23, 2013 - 12:14pm
Adrianne · DENVER
I ordered the Honest try it out package for $5.95 shipping, based on the cuteness of the diapers and the message that they are environmentally friendly. I thought it would be a good step in between Pampers and cloth diapers to do my part. And basically free diapers, who doesn't want those!

The diapers worked the same as Pampers. Before I could get through the 7 diapers in the trial, I noticed a diaper rash around the elastic on my 20 month old daughter. I'm not sure why she would have a reaction, but it must have been something plant based. I kept her wipes the same so it was definitely something in the diapers.

CAUTION - This trial is NOT FREE. I noticed buried in an email I was now enrolled in a monthly delivery of the diapers at over $100/month. It must have signed me up with the trial package. There is no way to cancel online and I have been sitting on hold for 10 minutes now trying to cancel. I would not recommend getting enlisted in any kind of trial because the time investment is so long to cancel.

Bottom line - be aware that these *may* cause diaper rash and the customer service is extremely slow.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 16, 2014 - 12:42pm
Vio · Edmonton
BUYER BEWARE: I would NOT recommend anyone order the sample package as you will automatically receive monthly bundles for $160 unless you call and cancel. Their products are okay but not worth the price or the headache of shipping product back. Definitely there are other products out there that are better and less expensive.
Maybe Jessica Alba needs to take a business course and learn about customer satisfaction.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 21, 2014 - 11:23am
Nicolette · Decatur, MI
Tried this "free trail" for a low price for shipping ($5.95 US), they then send you a e-mail telling you it actually becomes a monthly bill for around $160/monthly! I think not! Only way to cancel is to call and I had to wait 25 minutes to get a hold of someone finally! You have to wait until after you get your "free trial" and have to call back to get it cancelled. I can't remove my credit card information either, definitely NOT a honest company! Rate this a 1 out of 10 it would be 1!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 26, 2014 - 01:40pm
JValore · Mount Joy, PA
After reading the negative reviews, I thought I would provide some feedback. I used Pampers since day 1 with my daughter. I noticed in the morning when I would change my daughter's diaper that it smelled really bad. I tried the Honest diapers because I liked the plant based material and there is no smell. The absorbency in Honest is comparable to Pampers. The Honest diapers have a solid pad, similar to a cloth diaper instead of granules, which I love. They may be a little pricier, but they have been great for us. We ran into a leakage issue and customer service told me to go up a size. We went up a size and we haven't had any leakage since. Customer service in phenomenal. I have been using Honest for over six months and I plan on using them with my next children. My daughter has had one rash since using Honest, which clears up in a day with Desitin. My husband was against Honest at first and A few months later I mentioned switching to a different diaper, something cheaper and he wouldn't let me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 25, 2014 - 02:42pm
DiGC · Ottawa
Terrible business practices. They make it attractive with a "free" trail with a low $5.95 shipping fee. But, they later tell you what the membership entails a page later if you scroll down or in a separate email. You will be sent 2 bundles monthly at the approx. cost of $160 billed to your credit card! And you cannot cancel anytime like they say you can! There is no way to manage or cancel your order online. You must call. But only when they are open! There is no way to delete your own credit card info from their website! I feel like they stole my credit card number! I almost feel violated to the point to cancelling my current credit card to avoid the monthly fees! Dishonestly 100%!

Do not support this kind of business. It's just not right what they do do trap their customers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 18, 2013 - 04:53pm
marionandcedric · MILTON, GA
This is going to be almost a copy-pasted version of the previous review: we looked for safer wipes online for our son to avoid all the bad Parabens and Phenoxyethanol. We discovered this company and were actually seduced by their products and mission statement.

We ordered the Honest "FREE" sample package for $5.95 shipping to get a better idea of what to order in their entire catalogue.

Not only the diapers did not work better than the brand we were using before but they even created a terrible rash on our 16-month old son (or are these their wipes?).
The wipes are dry and stick to each other which must be pretty annoying on the long run.

So we decided not to go that route and look for another brand that would satisfy us and our son better.

Now the worst part begins !!!! What they call a "free trial" ends up being a monthly service where they stuff you for over $160 worth of products before you can even react and cancel it.
There is no actual way to cancel and manage your orders/subscriptions on their website, they force you to call their Customer Service(even an e-mail is not accepted).

We had to stay for 25 minutes on the line before talking to an operator who ended up offering a 15% discount on the bundles !!!
Seriously ??!!!?? You shoveled those products we never ordered down our throats and you don't accept them back ?

Those $5.95 did cost us over $160 because we did not go and read the fine prints at the very bottom of the page and we are now sitting with all those products that are not suitable for our son.

OUTRAGED !

And they call themselves the HONEST company… that's ironic !

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 21, 2013 - 09:09pm
kambrose · Raleigh,NC
If I were to choose between Earth Best and Honest. I would choose Earth Best. The honest diapers are cute but I dont like the flaps on the diapers at all! Earth best is stretchy and def more absorbent. Even looking at it you can tell its more absorbent.

I have tried there other products too and to be honest I don't think they are all that great of Quality. The only think I like on there are there new wipes. Dish soap is horrible, the hand soap is horrible and it squirts across your sink and the smells are completely different then the sample one they give you! I did email them about that and I was very upset what they told me. Just a bogus answer. I use Whole Foods soaps all the time and the smells don't change and its better quality and CHEAPER!

Lotion ok, Shampoo ok, surface cleaner ok but soapy looking..

I feel they are overall overpriced. But they do smell good with some of there products. Needs improvement. I wouldn't recommend this at all. Go to Whole foods or Amazon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 20, 2013 - 06:02pm
Alyangel88 · Modesto, CA
Out of all the diapers I tried including bambo these are by far THE BEST!!! I do not know what happened with their research, but they were extremely absorbant for my little girl! Poop explosions were rare, no rashes, and no wet feeling against my daughters skin. Even with the free shipping for the subscription, I had to cancel I just can't afford them but wish I could. They are by far the best. Very disapoined I have to cancel.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 6, 2013 - 03:06pm
HlynnSchu · Chicago
My son has very sensitive skin and I bought into the "natural" jargon and decided to splurge on these diapers, in the hopes that he would get less rashes and b/c they really are oh, so cute. These diapers just don't feel soft. They are very stiff. Recently, we went to a pediatric dermatologist and she said to avoid the products with "plant-based" labels, as they are often harsher on sensitive skin. We have switched back to what we used when he was born, Pampers Swaddlers, and are much happier.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 17, 2013 - 06:10am
Jeny verma · Callifornia
Hello, It's nice to read your Forum. I really like your article. I am agree with your all statements because i buy these Diapers for my baby and i think it is best product company. i usually use this after visited: [url=http://lipglosshippy.tumblr.com/post/25157993148/http-lipglosshippy-tumblr-com-cloth-diapering-6]honest diaper reviews[/url] website my all worries are away, you can see here and no need to worry about best diaper as this site providing us baby products with all information.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 2, 2013 - 02:47pm
I have been using Honest Diapers for three months, after noticing a VERY strong chlorine smell coming from the Pampers Sensitive Swaddlers that I was previously using.

The designs are fabulous--so cute and I like that I can pick and choose which ones I want each month. The diapers fit well, have not irritated my daughter's skin at all, and do a good job containing blow-outs--definitely comparable or better than Pampers.

They do tend to leak urine out the front when my daughter has been sleeping on her belly all night (roughly 10-11 hours, leaking probably 5/7 days per week). I am about to go up a size though, and am hoping that will eliminate the problem. Otherwise, I haven't had any issues with absorbency during the day.

The price for the size we are in comes out to $0.33 per diaper without even subtracting the cost of the wipes. Shipping is free for orders over $50, so my monthly bundle does not incur shipping fees. Each month I get 6 packs of diapers and four packs of wipes, and I use 3 packs of diapers per month, and 3-4 packs per wipes, but they are being used for my older daughter who is also in diapers. So, I am getting more than a month's worth for sure.

I have been very pleased with my experience with Honest, and their customer service is wonderful. I am recommending the product to my friends constantly.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 28, 2013 - 02:21pm
Michelle · New York, ny
I've used both Honest Company and Earth's Best diapers and I agree with the Baby Gear Lab reviews on these products. I found that the Honest Company diaper would get chunky or uneven when wet which I didn't care for. I also think the construction of the two is nearly identical, and if you go to the Valor Brands website and look at their Eco friendly diaper, the materials used appear to be what is used in the construction of every diaper they make. so if Honest and Earth's Best are both made by Valor, it's hard to believe that the Honest Company diaper is so much more unique or Eco friendly than Earth's Best. Perhaps they changed the ratio of SAP to other filler to be more Eco friendly (while also less effective and chunky in the process), I don't know. Either way, if Honest provides more disclosure, but uses the same materials, it does not make them more eco friendly than EB. I think Honest Company is selling an idea or an image that it's cool to be eco friendly and trying to make diapers fun. If they worked out to the same price I might use them, because we all need a little incentive to think diapers are fun but I have an issue with their shipping costs and their excuses for charging shipping to a customer who has already signed up and committed to use their $80 product every month. So until the Honest Company can expressly state what makes their diaper different than Their direct competition, or lower their prices either directly or by waving shipping, I'll be sticking with Earth's Best.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 17, 2013 - 03:35pm
mom of 8 · Nashville, TN
Their baby wipes are made in China with China’s local water as one of the only ingredients. The co-founder of the company called me himself and said that simply filtering the polluted local water, which they found 6,000 dead pigs in this week, was all that was required prior to using that polluted water to make the wipes. I refuse to trust any product from this company while they continue to make their wipes with polluted water in China. The website says their diapers are 100% plant based, but Chris says they are only 80% plant based. The diapers still carry the SAP toxin as its absorbent core. Not to mention, disposable diapers are no where near are safe, natural, and easy on the environment as cloth diapers. It saved us a lot of money and ensured a safer, better for the environment solution when we purchased the All-In-One cloth diapers with the inserts and one size fits all snaps. They hardly ever leak, so can be used even when leaving the house! We also now make our own wipes, even reusable ones, using 100% natural, food grade ingredients that are 100% safe for our baby's skin!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 22, 2013 - 02:28pm
jessiebyrd004 · Long Beach
BY far, the best diapers on the market. I've tried Earth's Best and Seventh Gen. Honest Diapers are way more absorbent. I don't know what how you guys did your test, but I definitely have never had any leakage with Honest diapers, where as I regularly had leaks with Nature's Best.

Also, even though I can't submit reviews on behalf of my friends. I could give you a list of at least five girl friends who will tell you, basically, the same story.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 14, 2012 - 02:03pm
Momma D · Southern NJ
To sum up what I like about the Honest Diaper Company:
  • Safe for baby
  • Work well at what they are supposed to do
  • Seem comfortable for baby
  • Well priced (.24c per diaper or cheaper if you get a promotion)
  • returns are easy ($5 restocking charge and can't be opened)
  • Many cute styles and colors
  • They improve the product by listening to their customers
  • Give to those less fortunate
  • Ships to home
  • Change orders online easily
  • Friendly 24hr customer service (usually no wait)
  • Carries products
  • Facebook messages actually are helpful and have give aways (unlike most fb companies I have friended)

I have been trying the Honest Company diapers for about 10+ weeks now. I have placed three orders. The first was newborn (size 0) which are up to 10 lbs. My girl was born at 9 lbs and the nurses said her diapers were barely fitting her, and to get the next size up asap. By the way, it was often mentioned how cute the diapers were, and I agree. After placing a call to the Honest Co. they got me out a new box in five days. At that time, I did not have any hold time and the customer service agent was very nice. After about a month I realized I had to call and see if there was any way I could get a refund on the seven packages of size 0 diapers I couldn't use… no problem! I was charged about $5 for a restocking fee and they emailed me label and had them picked up with no additional cost and refunded the rest! At 2months she is about 12lbs and went online to do this change to size 2! lol. this is normally a bit early for a 2.5 month baby, but I guess she's part weed like her daddy:)

Additionally, when they had a new type of tab added to their diaper they had several complaints within a couple of weeks. So they put out and email saying to call them if you were unhappy with the new style and they would make it up to you. So, I called and they gave me a whole new order for free. Then they had a gift promotion, that even allowed you to gift to yourself a six months supply of diapers or about 1/3 less! You know I got that promptly!

After a couple of days researching safe toxic-free diapers and thier ingredients, I got it down from two (Honest Diaper Co. and Seventh Generation), to one, the Honest Co. diapers. This may sound bad to some, but I had little concern for what any diaper did for the environment in my search. My main focus was my baby's health and then price. After I learned about the affect of SAP and how it is approved for use in diapers, I began to do allot of research. I already have some extensive time in research the horrible way that the FDA allows so many very very harmful things in our food, cosmetics, cleaning products and vaccines, that I knew I had to dig deeper. I short, I don't trust them, not one bit. After all SAP was taken out of tampons because it was found it caused Toxic Shock Syndrome in some women. With that finding I thought about how many babies die and they just put it under the general spectrum of SIDS as the cause. Sorry, I think there may, I repeat, may (I'm not a fully educated scientist) be a link!

Sorry I can't do much of a comparison for you this is my only child and I have not used any other diaper. But I have found other links who talk on this by googleing the name of one brand vs. another.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the The Honest Company Diapers?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Honest Website images
Credit: Honest web images
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Battle for the Best Disposable Diapers

The Battle for the Best Disposable Diapers

Finding the right diaper can be as challenging as changing dirty diapers, because both can feel overwhelming. We have sorted through the mess to help buyer's find the best diaper for their families.
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Disposable Diapers - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Disposable Diapers

by Juliet Spurrier, MD and Natalie Kellum
Get More BabyGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews
Earth's Best TenderCare Chlorine Free Diapers

Earth's Best TenderCare Chlorine Free Diapers
$0.30
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Editors' Choice Award
Up & Up (Target brand)

Up & Up (Target brand)
$0.14
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Best Value Award
BAMBO Nature

BAMBO Nature
$0.44
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Top Pick Award
Attitude

Attitude
$0.45
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Pampers Swaddlers

Pampers Swaddlers
$0.27
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Nature Babycare

Nature Babycare
$0.35
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
More related gear reviews...