Hands-on Gear Review

Compare baby bottle ratings side-by-side >

Tommee Tippee Closer To Nature Review

   
Best Value Award

Baby Bottles

  • Currently 3.3/5
Overall avg rating 3.3 of 5 based on 7 reviews. Most recent review: August 26, 2014
Price:  $13 list | Available for $4.75 each (in 3-pack) from Amazon
Pros:  Sturdy, wide mouth and nipple base, simple in a good way
Cons:  Extra "tip" required to get all the milk out
Bottom line:  A durable, hassle-free bottle that made mom and baby very happy, and is attractively priced
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.3 of 5) based on 6 reviews
Recommendations:  17% of reviewers (1/6) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   tommee tippee
Review by: ⋅ Review Editor, BabyGearLab ⋅ September 30, 2012  
Bottom Line
Out of the box, the Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature baby bottle is nothing fancy. It's a short and sturdy little bottle, which we've seen before, albeit a far cry from it's eye-catching comrades, like the ComoTomo Natural Feel or the mimijumi. But that's ok. In fact, it's great. In this case, that simplicity is complimented by high scores in function and useability, and when it comes to a baby bottle, that's all we ask for.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


BabyGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Tommee Tippee got it right with this super-simple baby bottle. In fact, it earned our Best Value award based on its combination of great performance and reasonable price. In our testing experience, it proved leak-free and easy to clean, assemble and fill. The wide nipple base and flexible nipple gave baby a good latch. It was also comfortable to hold, as it's indented a bit on the sides; we felt relaxed, even during a late night feed.

As most bottles do these days, it claims "anti-colic" and "anti-gas" on it's packaging. What we love though, is that this claim doesn't come with extra parts or valves or rings or straws which add hassle to cleaning and assembly. Their approach is simple; just a little vent hole in the side of the nipple base, which we felt was adequate enough.

We like that it is BPA and phthalate free with a silicone nipple, our favorite choice in nipple material. This bottle is lightweight, yet sturdy, and fit into both our car and stroller cup holders despite it's plump appearance.

Likes
We liked that the Tommee Tippee was easy to clean, assemble and fill with a wide mouth and no extra parts to keep track of. In fact, it edged out one of our other favorites, the Comotomo Natural Feel, because it's smooth plastic was easier to get clean than the silicone material of the Comotomo.

Click to enlarge
Nice latch on the Tommee Tippee!
Credit: Lindsay Ellis
It felt good in-hand and gave baby a comfy grip and latch as well. The wide based nipple has a slightly ribbed texture and a nice amount of "give" that we think would make for a good breast-to-bottle transition.

We didn't have any trouble with leaking during feeding or travel. The travel cap "locks" on well and stayed put on the go.

It lands in the low-middle price range of the bottles we tested, and it's durability and ease of use combined with that low cost also gave our highest scoring bottle our Best Value Award!

Dislikes
We did have to give it an extra "tip" to get all the milk down into the nipple.

A few times, the nipple collapsed a bit, but this didn't effect the milk flow for baby.

One other thing worth mentioning is that on the packaging, the bottle looks very shiny and clear, when in fact, it's more of a dull, frosted plastic in person.

Conclusion
Tommee Tippee made us happy with their easy-to-use, mess-free bottle. We didn't mind that it lacked striking colors or fancy vents, we just like that it worked well. In the BabyGearLab baby bottle line-up, this one sure "tipped" the scales!



Lindsay Ellis

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?

Reseller Price  Shipping Cost Visit
Amazon
$4.75  -  63% off!
(in 3-pack)
Check Site

Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help BabyGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above links and if you make any purchase, a portion of sale helps support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund things like our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states, and for ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


User Reviews


Most recent user review: August 26, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

BabyGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.3)

17% of 6 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
7 Total Ratings
5 star: 29%  (2)
4 star: 0%  (0)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 57%  (4)
1 star: 14%  (1)
Sort 6 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 8, 2014 - 12:04pm
chet · Kearney, MO
Nipple collapses like every ounce or more often then that and they are a pain in the rear to clean. They are expensive too and now I have to purchase a different system. Worst baby item ever in my book.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 26, 2014 - 12:35am
sunnycdn · brampton, ontario
This bottle is great. We have been using it regularly for 7 months. I breastfeed however we spent some time in the nicu and had to rely heavily on pumped milk in bottles in the beginning. My husband still does regular feeds and this is the best bottle we've used. We have had zero issues with the nipple collapsing, it's very easy to clean using a nipple brush and with a colicky baby we didn't have any issues with it worsening after using the bottle. It's comfortable to hold, the very wide nipple forced ds to latch as similar to the breast as we could get. The only con is that when you start getting to the end of the milk you have to tip it in to the nipple to get it all out. We tried playtex, avent, and Dr browns and this was byfar the best choice. I highly recommend this to anyone.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 4, 2014 - 01:12pm
Tamera · Dallas
This was supposed to be the best! I wish I read reviews on this before. Luckily we were able to return the entire system, warmer…sanitizer and all.
Bottles did not do well with my son. He has a deep pallet and these bottles did not suit him well. Formula was all over him all the time. Tried holding a different way, I thought perhaps I was handling the bottle wrong. Nope it was just the nipples. They collapse and bend way too much leaving a mess and a waste in valuable baby formula or breast milk.

Don't try it until you see, "New and Improved" on the packaging.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 10, 2014 - 12:05pm
PDJordan · Killeen, TX
I purchased this based on the review done by Baby Gear Lab and the ratings given off that review. I purchased the version for sensitive stomachs. Well, at first I was loving this bottle and also thought my infant loved it as well because he seemed to be able to eat better/faster/more food. So I purchased 8 more within the 1st week. BIG MISTAKE!! Because it turns out that it was actually the bottle leaking onto his bib and not him spitting up b/c he was eating too fast. This caused me heartache because that was a lot of wasted breast!
I tried repositioning the thing-a-ma-jig that monitors milk temp which goes inside, I tried tightening the cover, repositioning feeding positions, nothing worked! I am very irritated because these bottles are NOT cheap!. Hopefully Tommee Tippee will fix this issue because the feel of the nipple, the comfort of the bottle and the easy reading gauges would have made this bottle an absolute winner for me. Unfortunately I am sorely disappointed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 15, 2013 - 12:18pm
I purchased this bottle for my fourth child thinking that it would be a great transition bottle for breastfeeding. For the first 4 months of her life she couldn't latch onto this bottle so we wound up purchasing another bottle system. Once she was able to latch on i noticed after 6 months of usage the ounce marking on the bottle started wearing off. I notified the manufacturer of this issues and they said that they would replace them and they never sent the replacement bottles or the label for me to return the defective bottles back to them. I will not use this bottle again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 7, 2013 - 10:16pm
Erindeebabe · Belleville, nj
The only thing i liked about the bottle is the shape. It was for me to hold. Other than that im not impressed. The nipple would "collapse" while feeding. The nipple is not sturdy at all. The bottle had to many pieces to clean. I went and got playtex vent air bottles in a quick whim while food shopping and i won't turn back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Tommee Tippee Closer to Nature?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Credit: Lindsay Ellis
Where to Buy?
Seller Price
Amazon $4.75  -  63% off! (in 3-pack)

*If you click on any of the above links and make a purchase, a portion of sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Baby Bottle Review

The Best Baby Bottle Review

Which baby bottle is the best? With the help of a few hungry babies, we put 17 of the most popular and highly rated baby bottles through the ringer to find out.
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More BabyGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews
Also by tommee tippee