Hands-on Gear Review

Compare baby bottle ratings side-by-side >

Playtex Drop-ins Premium Nurser Review

   
Top Pick Award

Baby Bottles

  • Currently 3.6/5
Overall avg rating 3.6 of 5 based on 6 reviews. Most recent review: March 23, 2015
Price:  $7 list | Available for $4.99 each (in 4-pack) from Amazon
Pros:  Convenient, lightweight, good for pump-store-feed, disposable liners
Cons:  Extra cost and waste from liners, hard to measure
Bottom line:  A convenient pump-store-feed and dispose bottle system that made mom and baby very happy
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.3 of 5) based on 5 reviews
Recommendations:  40% of reviewers (2/5) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Playtex
Review by: ⋅ Review Editor, BabyGearLab ⋅ September 23, 2012  
Bottom Line
The Playtex Drop-Ins Nurser scored big with our testers, and most especially with those Moms who were breast pumping. The pump-store-feed-dispose convenience, coupled with leak-free feeding made mom and baby very happy. This bottle also features a wide mouth and nipple base with a soft, flexible nipple that our little tester seemed to really "latch on too".

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


BabyGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

The Playtex Premium Nurser was the only drop-in system we tested, but we sure loved it. The newborn gift pack we tried included one 4 oz. and one 8 oz. bottle, each with caps; drop-in liners for each size, plus, both a pump-attaching and storage cap that you can use alone with the bag, or, with the bag in the bottle. This all made the pumping, storing, warming and feeding process very streamlined. It worked perfectly for a visit to Grandma and Grandpa's.

At feeding time, we liked that you could "force" the air out of the liner once it's in the bottle to help ensure baby is just getting milk in their belly, and this is done without extra valves or vents! The nipple is large and supple which gave baby a comfortable latch. All pieces were easy to clean, especially when the liner can just be tossed away.

Likes


We had zero problems with leaking while using this bottle, both during feeding and in travel.

Click to enlarge
Playtex Drop-in liner can go straight from pumping into storage with this lid attached. The liners are sturdy and can stand on their own, even when filled.
Credit: Lindsay Ellis
The convenience of the pump-store-feed-dispose design of this bottle system is great for busy families. The drop-in liners are BPA free and sturdy enough to stand on their own, even when filled with milk.

This bottle felt comfortable in hand (both ours and baby's) and seemed to provide a great latch.

Dislikes


We love the drop-in liners for their convenience, but sometimes convenience comes at a cost. Here's a few pit-falls to using a drop-in system:
  • Since the liners themselves aren't labeled with measures, we didn't feel our liquid amounts were completely accurate.
  • The liners also lost a point in scoring in the eco-health category since they will cause more waste than a typical bottle would.
  • You'll also be spending a little more over the life of the bottle by purchasing these liners, around $4.00 for 50 of the 4oz. size.
  • Please refer to the users manual for more important information on using liners.

Conclusion


The Playtex Premium Nurser is a convenient drop-in system that provides an easy maintenance and feeding experience. It lost a few points for the waste and extra cost associated with the liners, but when it comes to convenience, we're willing to bend a little.

If you are breast pumping, this is a great solution and winner of our Top Pick award for breast pumping Moms. You might also want to check out the Medela BPA-free before you make a final decision, which nearly tied in overall score, and is also an excellent system for pump-store-feed.

Lindsay Ellis

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?

Reseller Price  Shipping Cost Visit
Amazon
$4.99  -  29% off!
(in 4-pack)
Check Site

Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help BabyGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above links and if you make any purchase, a portion of sale helps support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund things like our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states, and for ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


User Reviews


Most recent user review: March 23, 2015
Summary of All Ratings

BabyGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.3)

40% of 5 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
5 Total Ratings
5 star: 20%  (1)
4 star: 40%  (2)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 40%  (2)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 5 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 23, 2015 - 04:26pm
bal70 · San Francisco
Here is the response from the customer service department re the milk storage kit:


Thank you for taking the time to email us!

Regretfully, this item has been discontinued, and our stock is completely depleted. Due to lack of significant consumer interest, it was no longer feasible for us to continue manufacturing this product. Nevertheless, your comments will be passed onto our Marketing Department for future consideration.

Be assured that consumer comments are most important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to contact us. If we can be of further assistance, please call 1.888.310.4290.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 21, 2015 - 06:09pm
bal70 · San Francisco
I LOVED the drop in system 4 years ago with my first child. Recommended it to everyone I know. I pumped directly into the liners and froze my stash. It was so easy to pop the frozen milk in the nurser. I also used them for formula when we started to add some into the rotation. The ease of cleaning coudl not be beat for a family with 2 working parents. I had the original bottles so I have no comments on the new bottles.

So why only 3 stars???

My second is due in June. I've been searching our home for my old drop in gear and haven't found it yet. I did some research to see what is available now…and it looks like Playtex has discontinued their milk storage kit. Which means the convenience for pumping moms is now gone! If I can't find my old gear, I'm going to have to switch bottles and am quite sad about it!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 21, 2014 - 11:10am
I tried this bottle, and personally I hated it. Buying liners is very inconvenient and expensive. My mom used them with me but I hated then with my son. I could never get the air all out probe rely and in his mouth and the nipples leaked everywhere!!! They also are really flexible making it hard for a preemie to latch on. I would maybe give them another shot I know some moms love them. But for my preemie they didn't do so well.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 15, 2013 - 12:26pm
I have mixed feeling on this bottle. The classic feeding system is my favorite so since Playtex stopped manufacturing them I purchase these new bottle. I really don't like the new bottles for one reason. You cant use the sure seal liners very well. You almost are forced to purchase the more expensive liners. I'm currently pregnant and i am looking for a different bottle system for my next baby. Playtex PLEASE start making the classic bottles again.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 19, 2013 - 10:28am
to save money, walmart sells the liners in 4 and 8-10 oz expandable liners in their parent choice brand 100 for 6 dollars around, that fit perfectly with the bottle

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Playtex Drop-ins Premium Nurser?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
The Playtex Nurser with Drop-in liner.
Credit: Lindsay Ellis
Where to Buy?
Seller Price
Amazon $4.99  -  29% off! (in 4-pack)

*If you click on any of the above links and make a purchase, a portion of sale helps support this site
Table of Contents
Related Review
The Test to find the Best Baby Bottle

The Test to find the Best Baby Bottle

Which baby bottle is the best? With the help of a few hungry babies, we put 17 of the most popular and highly rated baby bottles through the ringer to find out.
Helpful Buying Tips